The Standards Of Care - Non-Sitters, Sitters & Walkers

The International Standards of Care for SMA (SoC) have been written by expert clinicians with input from people affected by SMA. They set out the minimum standards of care that anyone with SMA should expect, wherever they live. They’re used by your medical team whenever they’re discussing and deciding with you and your parents what’s the best care and management for you. They’ll be thinking not only about your ‘clinical classification’ (such as SMA Type 1, 2 or 3), but also about which physical milestones you’ve reached.

For simplicity, these milestones are sometimes used to group people with SMA as:

  • non-sitters - those who are unable to sit
  • sitters - those who are able to sit but not walk
  • walkers - those who are able to walk 

They’re not the most user-friendly terms, but advice and care may vary depending on which one applies to you.

If you want to take a look, you can read the Guide to the International Standards of Care, here:

This section you’re reading now talks about what’s covered in Chapter 4, Orthopaedic Management, but maybe makes it a bit more readable.

Page last reviewed: August 2021

Next review: August 2022